Beauty Post: Very Berry Goth

image

Modern gothic makeup uses more deep jewel tones and less white pancake makeup.  To create this look I started with a brightening face primer from Benefit (“that gal”) and ELF eye primer in Pearl.

image

Next I used Maybelline Dream Fresh BB cream in Light/Medium across my entire face. 

image

I applied liquid concealer in Fair from ELF beneath my eyes and above my upper lip.

image

After blending in the concealer with a sponge, I applied liquid highlight from ELF in Glow along my nose and jaw and blotted it in.

image

I used a purple eyeshadow quad from Revlon (Berry Bloom) as my blush by running my brush through the three darker shades and then along my cheeks.

image

image

I used an Avon Glittersticks eyeliner pencil in Nocturnal to fill in my brows. I wanted thinner, darker brows so I made small outlines, then filled them in.

image

I used the Super Slim liquid eyeliner marker from L’Oreal in Black/Noir to draw small wings coming from the top and bottom of the outer corners.

image

Like so.

image

I loaded a point brush with matte white eyeshadow powder from my large ELF palette.

image

I used that white directly beneath the browd to emphasize the brow shape.

image

Then I used my cleaned point brush to pick up a sparkling magenta shadow from the same palette. 

image

I applied this liberally between the white shadow and eyelid creases.

image

I used an angled eyeliner brush to line beneath my eyes in LA Colors loose shimmering powder in Black Pearl. I held the brush in my dominant right hand and gently held a tissue just below the line to prevent black powder from falling onto cheeks.

image

Next I loaded an eyeshadow brush with the same black powder and spritzed the brush with ELF Makeup Mist and Set spray. I applied this damp shadow to my lids, preventing shadow fall out.

image

I used Maybelline Great Lash mascara in Brownish Black to separate my lashes.

image

Keeping with the berry color theme, I choose a purple-red gloss from Almay in Just Plum over Fierce lipstick from L’Oreal.

image

With my hair down for the finished look.

image

Leave a Reply

